N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 requires that every person who operates a motor vehicle in New Jersey must have a driver’s license. The penalties for this offense are fines and a surcharge of $100 per year for three years. A driver who violates this statute can receive a fine of up to $502, and up to 60 days in jail.
A person often violates this statute when he moves into New Jersey without obtaining a New Jersey driver’s licence, and he has a problem with his driver’s license from the state where he formerly resided.